#1 ID Space… Learning the basics of analytical drawing

Design is one of the many ways of projecting ideas.

Done well, and designers can express not only great designs but also evoke feelings and moods.    However, we often find ourselves locked in our own drawing styles, which means we can limit ourselves, and during this workshop lesson, loose shoulder infused marks were encouraged and evaluated. I found that working from standing, allowed me to gain a new perspective over my marks and helped me to loosen up.

Ellipses and parallel lines

                                    Ellipses and parallel lines

Understanding how I produce marks has become an eye opener for me in terms of development. finding out which directions and weight of lines worked best for me helped me to see which areas needed work.

 In this workshop lesson we practiced parallel lines, ellipses and circles, practicing areas of weakness and progressing into adding shape and depth with shading. Moreover, working blindly using only our touch senses to discover the curves and edges of an object had proven more difficult but engaged me to push my skills further.

Here we drew ellipses and then added tonal value to create form.

Here we drew ellipses and then added tonal value to create form.

Leave a Reply

