Interior Sketching with steve #1 Scaling and Measurments

Today’s lesson for me was a nice first taster in to the kind of work I will be doing for the rest of my career.

Scaling and measurements was a little scary at first, converting real measurements was tricky at first to get my head around, but I found working with a scale ruler helped.

I pretty much found that all the ‘1’s on the scale rulers were the equivalents (in different measurements) of 1 meter, and the 2 = two.

1:1 would be real scale, so for instance if I was to draw a toaster on a scale of 1:1 I would draw it exactly the same size, 1:2 would be half the size. 1:100 would be 100 x smaller = 1 meter =1cm and 1:50 would be twice as big with 2cm for every meter.

Example of Scale conversions.

Example of Scale conversions.

So for the task of this lesson we drew to scale a quick plan of the desk and then we drew a layout for an interior. we had a key to work from which would show us how to represent windows and door space areas on a plan view. I found this task relatively easy to do, I enjoyed drawing this sketch precisely and getting a nice quality finish. I learnt how to sketch a sliding door, and i also was able to figure out some unknown measurements too which was pleasing.

First interior sketch, showing relative line thickness to demonstrate walls, and furniture.

                First interior sketch, showing relative line thickness to demonstrate walls, and furniture.

Leave a Reply

