Constructiong spaces using a shape ; Triangle.

Spaces can be inspired by many forms. Some can aspire from the most simple and complex of shape. Todays lesson we studied the simple form of a triangle, and as a task we had to produce both 3dymentional and 2dymentional constructions using only the triangular shape.

This tested my imagination as I worked and experimented with apllicating triangle shapes together, I found that my ideas worked better through trial and error rather than thinking of one set design, I found inspiration through producing more and more forms, which I feel was intended within this task.

Transforming a square bord into 8 sections we produced 4 3d sculptures and 2 dymentional forms. The most challenging form I produced was triangles interlocked into one another at the flat edges of each shape, It was difficult to keep the form structurally sound, but I found that by making incision at both points of contact, helped them to hold onto one another.

Together, my forms work well with one another, i believe the sections as a whole could make ( as a basis for idea ) a great motionary space or function.

This interlocking triangular design was difficult to construct, but structurally one of the most aesthetically pleasing designs.

This interlocking triangular design was difficult to construct, but structurally one of the most aesthetically pleasing designs.

This is one of my 2 dymentional forms, that i elevated to add another dymenton that can be turned into a first and second floor experience, or an opened vessel walkway.

This is one of my 2 dymentional forms, that i elevated to add another dymenton that can be turned into a first and second floor experience, or an opened vessel walkway.

This conjoined triangular wall construction can be represented as a walkway, i used a variety of papers demonstrating different opacity's. Also you can vaguely see I considered how the glue would look through my tracing paper base, I drew almost a spider webbed design and free handed my own version, rather than having odd glue marks on the base.

This conjoined triangular wall construction can be represented as a walkway, i used a variety of papers demonstrating different opacity’s. Also you can vaguely see I considered how the glue would look through my tracing paper base, I drew almost a spider webbed design and free handed my own version, rather than having odd glue marks on the base.

This layered design could inspire some kind of wall art or design,

This layered design could inspire some kind of wall art or design.

Tower constructed with folded equilaterals.

Tower constructed with folded equilaterals.

Layering triangles.

Layering triangles.

Leave a Reply

